7 Books on Suffering That Will Challenge You

I have read over 200 books in the past 3 years, and since I’ve been battling Lyme in the same duration, I’ve read quite a few books on the topic of suffering. I wanted to share with you the books that have been most helpful, encouraging, and challenging to me in my own healing journey. I hope they will be a blessing to you, too.

Eyes to See by Becky Keep

eyestoseeKeep a box of tissues on hand when you read this one. It’s a heart-wrenching, true story of a mother and her little boy who loses his sight. She is honest about her struggles and her unwavering faith in the Lord through it all is incredibly inspiring. I LOVED this book.

The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom

TheHidingPlace-coverI should have read this book a long time ago. But I’m so glad I finally picked it up. It’s now among my top 3 favorite books of all time. This is a must-read if you haven’t yet picked it up.

Joy that Lasts by Gary Smalley

joythatlastsIf you struggle to find joy in the midst of hardship or often ask the question, “Why is this happening to me?” then you should read this book. Smalley encourages the reader to find the good that has come from every trial, big or small, and thus, be joyful in every circumstance. Since I tend to be more pessimistic than positive, his points were very good for me to learn.

The Gift of Pain by Dr. Paul Brand and Philip Yancey

painDr. Paul Brand was a doctor in India for 19 years who did ground breaking research on leprosy, discovering that the disease attacks the nerves and dulls the patient’s sensation of pain. Without the ability to feel pain, patients hurt themselves without realizing it and thus, causes irrevocable damage to their limbs. This book opens ones eyes to the fact God created pain to protect us and is truly a gift. Such a great read.

Evidence Not Seen by Darlene Diebler Rose

evidencenotseeThis one is right up there with The Hiding Place. This book focuses on the true accounts of the author who was a POW during WWII. Like Corrie Ten Boom, she showed great faith and resilience in the midst of trying circumstances. You’ll laugh with her, cry with her, and be inspired by her.

A Path Through Suffering by Elisabeth Elliot

pathsufferingMy favorite author on one of my favorite topics. What’s not to love? She certainly experienced her share of suffering throughout her life, yet remained so steadfast, so faithful to her Lord. I’m grateful for great women of the faith like Elisabeth who have gone before and have left an example for me to follow.

Streams in the Desert by L.B. Cowman

streamsdesertI don’t particularly love devotional books, but this one should be read by every Christian. Many of the entries spoke directly to my circumstances and provided great encouragement. If you are in the midst of a storm, pick up a copy of this great devotional book.

What books about suffering have challenged or encouraged you over the years? I’d love to hear about them!

Do you love to read? Have you ever heard of paperbackswap.com? It’s an online booking swapping community where you trade your used books in order to receive used books in return from other members. I’ve been doing it for over a year and so far have mailed 35 books and received 34 different books! Whenever I hear of a book I might be interested in, I immediately add it to my wishlist on paperbackswap.com and wait for a copy to become available. Sometimes it takes a while, but other times it’s available right away.

All you have to do is sign up, list the books that you are ready to part with, and send them out to other members when they are requested. Yes, you pay the postage to send your books out (between 2 and 3 dollars for an average-sized book), but when you request books for yourself, the senders pay the postage to send those books to you.

Every book you send earns Book Credit when it is received – you can use Book Credits to request books for yourself. They’ll even give you startup Book Credits free if you are the first account at your household – you can use those credits to get two books for yourself, totally free! Sign up, today!

Perhaps you enjoy reading books about marriage, as well. If you missed my post on “10 Books That Will Transform Your Marriage,” you can read it here.

Let me know what you think

