Dating Your Spouse: 196 Activity Ideas {Week 11}

For those of you looking for some inside date ideas, here are a few that will still get you out of the house and enjoying one-on-one time with your spouse.

71. Visit an art gallery.
This is a low-key, peaceful activity that will allow for lots of discussion. Decide ahead of time to determine your favorite pieces while observing together. You could even do a little research on the artwork ahead of time if you’re especially interested in art.

72. Attend a play or musical.
High schools usually host at least one of these a year for reasonable prices. If you live close to a college town you have even better options. It’s like watching a movie being aired live… sort of.

73. Visit a museum.
Did you know all the Smithsonian Museums in Washington, D.C. are free?! And there are some wonderful displays. My husband and I recently visited the Air and Space Museum and the Museum of American History. We highly recommend both. But even if you don’t plan on taking a trip to our nation’s capital, there are museums all over the U.S. Perhaps there is one in your own town that you’ve yet to explore. Why not set a date to visit it right now?!

74. Watch a local talent show.
Depending on where it is located, you may be able to do this activity without spending any money. Since most talent shows feature a lot of music, this will probably appeal most to those who enjoy music.

75. Attend a book reading and/or book signing together.
Some of you aren’t book nerds like my husband and I, but humor me. (I can see one of my sisters rolling her eyes and laughing at this idea). It’s something different and who knows, you may have more fun than you anticipate!

76. Watch a movie from your laptop in the car (your own “drive-in theatre”!).
I think this would be a blast, but I haven’t been able to convince my husband, yet. If you do this, let me know how it goes! Just like you would for the drive-in, make your own popcorn ahead of time and get cozy with blankets and pillows. The best part is, you don’t actually have to leave your driveway (or garage). If you have kids, just bring the baby monitor in the car with you!

77. Have a progressive date. Buy drinks at one place, eat the main course somewhere else, and end with dessert at another destination.
My husband and I did this for my birthday one year. We got appetizers at one restaurant and then continued on to another restaurant for our main meal. Since I can’t have sugar, gluten, or dairy we skipped finding yet another restaurant for dessert and instead got some allergy-friendly ice cream at our local grocery store and ate it at home while watching a movie together. I highly recommend this idea! It adds a little excitement to the typical dinner date.

Have any of these sparked your interest?

Let me know what you think

