10 Books That Will Transform Your Marriage

I love to read, and one of my favorite subjects to read about is marriage. Ask my husband, I’ve got my own library of marriage books alone! But there are some I’ve enjoyed far more than others and I wanted to share with you my favorites over the years. I hope they will be a help to you as you seek to honor God and your spouse.

10 BOOKS THAT WILL TRANSFORM YOUR MARRIAGE

The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman

five-love-languages-book-coverThere is a reason this book is still a top-seller. This is a great book to read with your spouse and will foster great conversation.

For Better or For Best by Gary Smalley

4betterI like to purchase this book for brides-to-be. It gives women insight into the way men think and how our actions affect them. It’s very eye-opening, as well as practical.

Sacred Marriage by Gary L. Thomas

sacredmarriageI don’t think there is any marriage book out there quite like this one. His thesis is that God created marriage in order to make us holy, not happy. We often place our focus solely on happiness, to the detriment of our marriage.

His Needs, Her Needs by Willard F. Harley, Jr.

hisneedsherneedsSome of the stories introduced in this book shook me up a bit. It was frightening to see how one minute a marriage could be doing great and then one step taken later toward the slippery slope can leave it completely shattered. It made me aware that nobody is immune to the temptations of an affair and the importance of guarding my own heart diligently.

Love & Respect by Dr. Emerson Eggerichs

love_and_respectThis will open your eyes to the importance of showing respect to your husband. If you can learn the principles laid out in this book during the first couple years of your marriage, you will have laid a great foundation for the next 50-60 years together.

Money & Marriage God’s Way by Howard Dayton

moneymarriageThis is a great book to give newlyweds, but it’s never too late for seasoned couples to read it, as well. Since I do read so much (and particularly on the topic of marriage), I knew many of the principles laid out already, but I still found it helpful and refreshing.

Joni & Ken: A Love Story by Larry Libby

joniWhat a powerful story of true love. I so appreciated the raw honesty portrayed in this true love story of Joni Eareckson Tada. If you have ever struggled with selfishness or loneliness or hopelessness in your marriage, this book is for you. It may bring you to tears, but it will definitely encourage you.

Emotional Purity by Heather Arnel Paulsen

emotionalThis book is geared toward singles, but the principles are also important for those of us who are already married. Somebody once wisely told me, “After you’re married you will still find other men attractive.” I was shocked at the time, but it’s true. Noticing somebody is attractive is not a sin, but dwelling on it and on them is wrong. We women have to work to keep our emotions in check, being faithful to our husbands in our thoughts as well as our words and deeds.

The Seven Principles for Making Marriage Work by John Gottman

7principlesJohn Gottman is not a Christian, but he has done extensive research that I believe is still helpful to Christian couples. Of course, you’ll have to take some of what he says with a grain of salt, but overall it’s a good read.

Sheet Music by Kevin Leman

sheetmusicNo marriage book list would be complete without at least one book on sex. I’d encourage you to read this book aloud with your spouse. Leman keeps the topic lighthearted while being honest.

What books have transformed your marriage? I’d love to hear about them!

Do you love to read? Have you ever heard of paperbackswap.com? It’s an online booking swapping community where you trade your used books in order to receive used books in return from other members. I’ve been doing it for over a year and so far have mailed 35 books and received 34 different books! Whenever I hear of a book I might be interested in, I immediately add it to my wishlist on paperbackswap.com and wait for a copy to become available. Sometimes it takes a while, but other times it’s available right away.

All you have to do is sign up, list the books that you are ready to part with, and send them out to other members when they are requested. Yes, you pay the postage to send your books out (between 2 and 3 dollars for an average-sized book), but when you request books for yourself, the senders pay the postage to send those books to you.

Every book you send earns Book Credit when it is received – you can use Book Credits to request books for yourself. They’ll even give you startup Book Credits free if you are the first account at your household – you can use those credits to get two books for yourself, totally free! Sign up, today!

Let me know what you think

