Truth Treasure: Three Things

“Hear my prayer, O LORD, give ear to my supplications! Answer me in Your faithfulness, in Your righteousness! … I remember the days of old; I meditate on all Your doings; I muse on the work of Your hands.”
Psalm 143:1,5

In Psalm 143 the psalmist appeals to God’s faithfulness and righteousness as he asks God to hear his prayers. He then does three things as he waits for God’s answer (v. 5).

1) The Psalmist remembers what God has done in the past
2) The Psalmist meditates upon all God is doing currently
3) The Psalmist contemplates the work of God’s hands

I believe doing these three things is a good way to get one’s mind off the problems in life and to instead, fix one’s mind upon God. Have you ever tried this? The next time you have a need, bring it before God. But instead of continuing to worry or be burdened by your particular problem, meditate upon how God has helped you in the past, how you see Him working around you currently, and on the incredible way in which He made all of creation by the word of His mouth.

Let me know what you think

