More of You

Below is an original song/poem I wrote this morning during my quiet time. God has been revealing His purposes to me regarding my health. [For those of you who are unaware, I have had Lyme disease for at least 4 years and am continuing to recover.] As of late, Satan has been hitting me right and left with lies and I finally took the time to find verses to counteract them. Many of my lyrics come directly from the Bible (or are paraphrased). These are verses that have really helped me through my trial, providing insight and encouragement.

Image

I’ve been fighting this…

Many years have passed and I’m still struggling.

I’ve cried out to You

time and time again… just to ease the pain.

 

Many tears I’ve cried

pitying my state and forgetting You

I’ve been so blind

questioning again what You’re doing.

 

[CHORUS]

Now I see what I couldn’t before.

Now I know what this trial is for.

How can I but count it all joy

to deny myself, draw near to You,

and make more of You and less of me?

 

You’ve created me

to magnify Your name and bring You glory.

I exist for You.

Jesus, take my life and help me trust You.

 

Jesus, You are good

and You orchestrate all things for my good.

How could I doubt you?

You do more than I ask or imagine.

 

CHORUS

 

You’re renewing me,

day by day the fire refines my soul.

When You bring me through

I will reflect Your image gloriously.

 

In the hottest fires

the blacksmith makes his finest work of all.

When You bring me through

I will reflect Your image gloriously.

 

CHORUS

 

I’ve learned the secret:

contentment springs NOT from circumstances.

You are the answer-

You are more than enough, all that I need.

 

I may waste away,

but You, Jesus, are the strength of my heart.

You will sustain me

and one day wipe all tears and pain away.

 

CHORUS

 

 

Scripture references: Genesis 1:27; Psalm 139:13; Colossians 1:16b; Psalm 119:68a; Romans 8:28; Ephesians 3:20; 2 Corinthians 4:16; Proverbs 17:3; 1 Peter 1:7; Job 10:23b; James 1:2a; Luke 9:23; James 4:8; John 3:30; Philippians 4:11; Psalm 73:25-26a; 2 Corinthians 12:9a; Revelation 21:4

One thought on “More of You

  1. I thank God that He heals all our sickness and diseases, and for the fact that joy and contentment come only from Him. My prayer of comfort for you is, when you are filled with cares, His comfort will bring joy. Thank you Lord for restoring Your precious one and for giving greater honor and comfort once again. Then when doubts fill the mind your comfort will bring renewed hope and cheer. Amen.

    This prayer is from: Psalm 94:19 (HCSB), Psalm 71:21, and Psalm 94:19 (NLT).

Let me know what you think

